Fellowship Eligibility Criteria

Please take note of any additional eligibility criteria specified in the fellowship announcement for each year.

General Eligibility Criteria:

  • be working journalists, or bloggers with at least five years’ experience in writing for print, broadcast or online media, either as staff or freelance writers. Applicants may demonstrate their eligibility for the fellowship by submitting three published articles – especially those related to the theme. Articles originally written in the regional languages are also accepted, if an English translation is provided.

  • be a citizen of one of the 11 countries in Southeast Asia: Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam. Nationals of countries that are the focus of a particular fellowship theme are not allowed to apply for that particular year.

Encouraged to apply:

• Women journalists.

• Journalists working from outside the country capital, including those working in small or community media.

Additional Criteria for 2015: None

Note: Alumni who completed the Fellowship five years prior to the current year may apply. Do note that being an alumni does not give special consideration for selection.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

x Logo: Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security