[UPDATED] SEAPA welcomes 5 new members, new officers

UPDATE: The officers of the Board of Trustees for 2015-2018 are as follows:

  • President: Aliansi Jurnalis Independen as represented by Eko Maryadi
  • Vice-President: Cambodian Centre for Independent Media as represented by Pa Nguon Teang
  • Secretary: Timor Leste Journalists Association as represented by Virgilio Guterres
  • Treasurer: Thai Jounalists Association as represented by Pradit Ruangdt
  • Member: Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism as represented by Malou Mangahas

KANCHANABURI –  The Southeast Asian Press Alliance (SEAPA) general assembly on 9 December approved five new members representing Cambodia, Myanmar and Timor Leste, bringing the number of organizations in the network to 11.

Of the five organizations, three –  the Cambodian Center for Human Rights (CCHR), Cambodian Center for Independent Media (CCIM) and the Timor Leste Journalists Association (TLJA) – have been accepted as full members, and the other two, the Burma News International (BNI) and Myanmar Journalists Network (MJN), as associate members.

“We are happy to welcome the new members into SEAPA,” said outgoing SEAPA chairperson Wiratmo Probo.

SEAPA’s existing members are the Aliansi Jurnalis Independen (AJI Indonesia), Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR), Centre for Independent Journalism (CIJ), Institut Studi Arus Informasi (ISAI), Philippines Center for Investigative Journalism (PCIJ) and the Thai Journalists Association (TJA).

The network was formed in 1998 to champion for genuine press freedom in Southeast Asia.The meeting also elected a new set of  members into the Board of Trustees: AJI Indonesia, TJA, CCIM,  who will hold office until DEcember 2018; and AJTL and PCIJ, until December 2016.

The different terms of office were set by the previous Board to facilitate continuity in the organizations’s governance structure. New members with four year terms will be elected in 2016.

x Logo: Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security